Skip to content
November 3, 2010 / Angela McCuiston

Upcoming November Activities!!

November is turning out to be a BUSY month for me. If you aren’t on my newsletter mailing list and would like to be so you can keep informed of what’s going on in the Panama City flute/music world and where you can catch me performing or teaching, send me an email at angela@fluteangel.net or reply to this blog post and I’ll put you on the email newsletter list. No charge!

The two big things happening this month are the 2nd Semi-Annual Mini Flute Camp happening November 20th and the formation of the Emerald Coast Flute Choir.

I’m solidifying details with where the flute choir can meet to practice, but I have lots of people who are interested. If you would like to join the flute choir, it is open to all high school and adults (and talented middle schoolers) in the Panama City area.  Information will be coming soon on my website at www.fluteangel.net, but in the meantime, feel free to leave a comment or drop me an email if you are interested or have any ideas for the group.  Keep a lookout because the flute choir will be starting rehearsals this month!

The Panama City Mini Flute Camp will be on November 20th at the Arnold High School band room from 9AM-12 PM.  Kind of like a session of “everything you wanted to know about the flute/piccolo but were afraid to ask”.  We will cover all kinds of topics, whatever interests or concerns you at the moment.   We’ll talk about ways to deal with performance anxiety, stretching, body awareness and on the playing end of things we’ll cover all kinds of topics: how to play high notes easily and cleanly, articulation and double tonguing, how to do vibrato, how to efficiently practice, etc.  We’ll have a masterclass setting during one hour where anyone who has music they would to play in front of the group will come up and get a lesson and everyone can learn from it!  We will end the session by playing some music together in a flute choir setting.  This happens only semi-annually so don’t miss it!  If you cannot afford lessons, this is the perfect opportunity for you to take advantage of getting your noggin crammed full of flute knowledge and leave excited and inspired to play!  Cost is $5.  RSVP by emailing me at angela@fluteangel.net   Look for details in the newsletter.

 

 

In other news, I will be giving the presentation “Lift, Play, Love: Basic Weightlifting for Efficient Flute Playing” at my alma matter: Tennessee Technological University on November 12th at 2 PM.  I will be presenting this same topic at the Florida Flute Association Annual Convention on January 30th in Orlando; if you cannot be there, this is a wonderful opportunity for you to come experience it.  All are welcome.

 

I will also be playing with the 129th  Army National Guard Band twice next week: on November 9th at Nashville’s Memorial Plaza around 1 PM and in Knoxville for the Veteran’s Day Parade on November 11th.  I’d love to see you there and you can RSVP on Facebook!
Two majorly exciting events coming up in Panama City this month are concerts by the Army Field Band and Keith Lockhart and the BBC orchestra.

 

The US Army Field Band will be playing at 7PM at Mosley High School on the 6th of November.  Tickets are free.  Contact Jamie Birdwell for tickets.    You can also check out their website at: www.armyfieldband.com

Keith Lockhart brings the BBC Orchestra to PC on Novmber 16th at 7:30 PM at the Marina Civic Center.  Keith Lockhart is the conductor for the Boston Pops Orchestra – this is a concert you do not want to miss!!!  You can buy tickets here

 

Soooo much going on!  I’m truly blessed to have this life and I look forward to sharing more of my knowledge with you as we go.  If you would like to take lessons, I teach in the Panama City area, and if you are not anywhere near me, we can still have lessons via Skype!  Visit my website fluteangel.net/teaching.htm for details.  You can find me on Facebook as well – I’d love for you to “like” my music.

Leave a Reply

