Skip to content
October 4, 2011 / Angela McCuiston

It’s Oatmeal Season

If you all aren’t subscribed to Fresh Food Perspectives and you have any interest in healthy food and recipes at all, then you should be.  The author, Jenna Bradock, is a registered and licensed dietician and she loves to post not only recipes but helpful tips, favorite foods and uses and all kinds of goodies.  I got this gem in my inbox this morning and since I LOVE breakfast and oatmeal, I thought I’d share it with you.  In fact, on a side note, if you love breakfast too, there’s a man dedicating his life to it…no I”m not kidding.  You can check out his site with endless breakfast ideas at www.MrBreakfast.com  

So, without further ado, here is her post on Oatmeal and the recipe to follow!

It’s Oatmeal Weather

That’s what I thought as I walked outside this morning to let my dog out. Mid 50′s makes me want to forget my usual smoothie for breakfast and break out the crock pot and steel cut oats. Yes, the crock pot.

My dad introduced me to using a mini crock pot for cooking steel cut oats. I love steel cut oats because of their texture. Let’s pause for a moment to discuss the difference between oats.

__________________

Steel cut oats start basically the same as Old Fashioned, they just haven’t been rolled out flat. Steel cut oats still have the bran of the oats which translates to more fiber and a lower glycemic index than rolled oats. (This means that the rise in blood sugar after eating is less than when you eat rolled oats.) So they are a better choice although any oatmeal is better than a poptart or doughnut in the morning. =)

____________________

The major deterrent to steel cut oats is that they take a long time to cook. This is where the crock pot comes into play. However, I don’t want to get up 3 hours before breakfast to turn it on. My dad introduced me to the timer-crockpot system. At Target, you can purchase an outlet timer that has a digital screen on it. You just type in the time you want the outlet to turn on, plug the crock pot into it, and turn the crock pot to “on”. Simple and breakfast is waiting for you when you get up.  My dad’s recipe is super delicious. To be honest, I still don’t get mine to turn out quite like his. But here is his “super scientific” recipe. Have fun with it and add whatever sounds yummy to you!

Dad’s Steel Cut Oats

1/4 cup of steel cut oatmeal
1 and 1/2 cup of water
two packets of sweetener of choice or brown sugar
1/8th cup of craisins
add cinnamon to taste, 1-2 teaspoons
two teaspoons of ground flax seed
1/4 to 1/3 cup of blueberries
one finely diced apple
set up in a crock pot overnight and set the timer to start the croc pot 3 hours before eating
3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. freshfoodperspectives / Oct 5 2011 1:26 PM

    Thanks for the shout out! I appreciate it.
    Jenna

    • Angela McCuiston / Oct 5 2011 8:41 PM

      You’re welcome Jenna! Love your stuff, keep it coming, and I love the oatmeal recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. Having A Healthier Breakfast | EASYWAYTOLOSSWEIGHT

Leave a Reply

