Skip to content
October 8, 2011 / Angela McCuiston

Where are the music posts?

I know I know, I’ve been pumping out a lot of fitness articles, most seemingly having little to do with the flute or music world.

For those of you musicians missing the musical side of things, I apologize, but just like it pays to listen in rehearsal with the conductor talks to another section and rehearses them (instead of tuning out) you just might learn something beneficial to your own musician-focused workouts if you pay attention to the seemingly  “meat-head” articles.
I confess I’m a little obsessed  with the weight loss aspect of things, because I myself am losing weight and want to share the knowledge with people.  I’m not just a musician and I’m not just a personal trainer, I feel like I have a voice and I want to use it as best I can to bust apart the myths and bring the truth to whomever happens across the blog.

Musicians, do you need to know how to squat?  Absolutely!  Any Alexander Teacher will go on and on about babies’ perfect posture when squatting.  While my squat post seemed to have little to do with musicians, if you can control your body under a bar with heavy weight, not only will you be strong, but you can make your Alexander Teacher proud by having a correct Use of Self while performing the lift!

What about The Secrets of Being Lean?  What if you aren’t losing weight?  What if you want to gain, or think it flat out doesn’t apply to you.  Oh, but it does!  Did you read it?  Take away the “weight loss” or “lean” part of the equation and insert a musical term like “practicing”.  How many of your non-musician friends understand the joy you get from locking yourself in a practice room for hours?  You have to put up with ridicule and stares just like people who are fitness minded get when they insist on healthier food at restaurants.

Oh yes, there is crossover.

I am doing a bit of studying as well and since I do not want to just bring you anecdotal stories and theories about how weight training can help musicians be stronger and play longer pain free, or how stretches help and which ones are best to use before playing, I want to get my facts right and bring you the studies that back up my findings.  There is enough anecdotal nonsense and bro-science in the world, I don’t want to add to it.

So, please bear with me as I seek to bring you more meaningful and evidence-based  “strength training for musicians” related-material.  It is coming, I assure you.  In the meantime, take these articles that are already up and the ones forthcoming and apply them to life outside the weight room. You just might surprise yoruself at the take-away.

Leave a Reply

